jump to navigation

Jobless in NYC (for a month now) April 21, 2011

Posted by invisiblemadness in Job hunt, Unemployment.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Originally written: March 30, 2011

So what is life like to be a foreigner and jobless in NYC? It sucks! Well, it isn’t terribly bad, but after a month, boredom (and loserdom!) is slowly creeping in.

Officially, I have been jobless for 3.5 months now. But since I supposedly took a break for the holidays (2 weeks), then “supposedly” studied for the bar for 2 months (I wish I really did take up two months to study, but I didn’t); I have only started looking for a job on February 28. Here is the status update:

Total jobs applied to: I haven’t counted, but definitely more than 10, but less than 20.
Total responses: 7
Interviews: 2 (2 concluded; 1 interview tomorrow)
Rejections: 2
(One didn’t want to sponsor for employment – H1B; the other said I wasn’t a good fit)
Responded but never heard from again: 1
(A firm in Atlanta emailed me a basic questionnaire with salary requirement, reason for leaving last job, etc. I responded and sent a follow-up email, but never heard from the firm again.)
Responded and currently arranging interview schedule: 1
Offers: 0
Locations applied to: Texas, California, DC metro/suburb; Boston, New York, Ohio

I interviewed at a small firm (the attorney said they were a “quasi-firm”) in a DC suburb last week. Now, HR people reading this would probably crucify me for not sending a “thank you” note immediately after the interview, BUT I didn’t because: 1) Having seen the firm, I am not certain that I would want to work there; 2) I felt that I invited myself for an interview and went there on my own expense anyway; 3) I don’t think the employer was sincere about the job vacancy. I know, I know, where are my manners?! I should have thanked them regardless. BUT, seriously, prior to the interview, the attorney presumably “pretended” not to have gotten my email following up about a possible interview; and during the interview flat out told me that I would probably go back to New York once I am admitted to the NY bar.

Here’s the deal: I responded to a blind job ad on Craigslist. The employer emailed me asking if/when I would “relocate” to DC. I emailed back that as soon as their H-1B petition for me has been approved, I would relocate and start working for them. The employer, Mr. Y, then called me TWICE, saying that the H-1B sponsorship was not an issue. He said over and over that they weren’t a fancy firm. He told me about the roots of the firm and what they do. On his second call he said the interview does not have to be on the following week, there wasn’t a need to rush it. I said I will check my schedule and would get back to him, which I did. I emailed on a Friday to schedule an interview for the following Thursday. I didn’t receive a reply. On Tuesday afternoon I called him to schedule the interview. He said he didn’t get my email. We scheduled the interview for Thursday, March 24.

The interview went well. I interviewed with 2 attorneys (Mr. X, the father, and his son, Mr. Y. Mr. Y was in and out during the interview. At the conclusion of my interview, Mr. X said to talk to Mr. Y about my compensation. Mr. Y went on again and again about job duties, that the firm is a quasi firm and isn’t fancy. He also said they have health insurance. But no discussion about compensation. Mr. Y said he would contact me again.

Now, here’s my take on things. I think Mr. Y isn’t sure if developing a new practice for their firm would really be beneficial. Perhaps he was having second thoughts about it. So anyway, I haven’t contacted Mr. Y since the interview. Neither has he contacted me. I would be interviewing with another company (Company C) tomorrow, and regardless of the outcome of that interview (I do not suppose it is any company’s practice to hire on the spot), I plan to follow-up with Mr. Y.

Next week, I hope to interview with a Boston firm. If that doesn’t happen and I don’t get an offer from Company C, then I am dead meat! I will be away on my Orlando vacation on the 2nd week of April, so I wouldn’t be applying to jobs then. Then again, why waste the time, I suppose I could apply to jobs before I turn in at night. At any rate, I should really be packing my stuff anyway. My lease ends in May.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment